Radhika Kothuri 

Jun 2022


In Vedic astrology, Nakshatras or constellations are the key to understanding celestial influence on the people.  There are total 27 nakshatras.  The significance of each nakshatra decides the course of destiny as soon as a person is born. These nakshatras are approx. 400 light-years away from earth. Nakshatras are the most important in astrology to place any auspicious muhurta(time) for any social, cultural and religious events.  The nakshatra, in which the Moon is present at the time of one’s birth is called Janma Nakshatra.  Nakshatras are a vital part of vedic astrology.


Nakshatra is a combination of two words “Naks” means “Sky” and “Shetra” means “Area” or “Region”.  Hence, nakshatra is an “area of the sky” or “sky map” that includes the 12 Rashis.  These Nakshatras impact our nature, and psychology and provide more information about an individual.  Each nakshatra has a mythological connection to our purnas, these provide a deep insight into their nature, characteristics, strengths, weaknesses etc.  We will discuss at length each Nakshatra in our future articles in the series of “Nakshatras”. 

Each naksatra measures 13 degrees and 20 minutes.  Nakshatra starts at Zero degrees Aries and ends at 30 degree Pisces.  The calculation is derived by dividing 360 degrees (a circle) into 27 equal parts.  Each nakshatra has four phases (Pada). Each Rashi has 2 ½ nakshatras that is each Rashi has 9 padas.  The Moon is known to transit one rashi in 2.25 days(approx.).  Hence, Moon transits all the 12 rashis in a span of approx. 27 days.

Classification of Nakshatras:


The nakshatras are classified under three main groups

  1. Deva Gana (Divine):

Ashwini, Mrigasura, Punarvasu, Pushyami, Hasta, Swati, Anuradha, Sravana Revati.

  1. Manushya Gana (Human):

Bharani, Rohini, Ardra, Poorvaphalguni, Uttaraphalguni, Poorvashada, Uttarashada, Poorvabhadra, Uttarabhadra.

  1. Rakshasa Gana (Demon):

Krittika, Aslesha, Magha, Chitta, Visakha, Jyeshta, Moola, Dhanista, Satabisha.


They are divided into three nadis. Nakshatras assigned to different nadis are:

  1. Adi - Vata

Ashwini, Arudra, Punarvasu, Uttaraphalguni, Hasta, Jyeshta, Moola, Satabisha, Poorvabhadra.

  1. Madhya – Pitta

Bharani, Mrigasira, Pushyami, Poorvaphalguni, Chitta, Anuradha, Poorvashada, Dhanista, Uttarabhadra.

  1. Antya – Kapha

Krittika, Rohini, Aslesha, Magha, Swati, Visakha, Uttarashada, Sravana, Revati.

Planetary Lords of Nakshatras:

Each nakshatra has a planetary lord which is used for astrological predictions with the help of vimsottari dasa. The number of years assigned to the planet and nakshatra is the mahadasa duration in Vimsottari dasa.

  1. Ketu – 7 years

Ashwini, Magha, Moola

  1. Venus – 20 years

Bharani, Poorvaphalguni, Poorvashada

  1. Sun – 6 years

Krittika, Uttaraphalguni, Poorvashada

  1. Moon – 10 years

Rohini, Hasta, Sravana

  1. Mars – 7 years

Mrigasira, Chitra, Dhanista

  1. Rahu – 18 years

Ardra, Swati, Satabisha

  1. Jupiter – 16 years

Punarvasu, Vishakha, Poorvabhadra

  1. Saturn – 19 years

Pushyami, Anuradha, Uttarabhadra

  1. Mercury – 17 years

Aslesha, Jyeshta, Revati.


Each Nakshatra is assigned to a Tara which represents auspiciousness.

  1. Janma Tara

Ashwini, Magha, Moola

  1. Sampat Tara

Bharani, Poorvaphalguni, Poorvashada

  1. Vipat Tara

Krittika, Uttaraphalguni, Poorvashada

  1. Kshema Tara

Rohini, Hasta, Sravana

  1. Pratyak Tara

Mrigasira, Chitra, Dhanista

  1. Sadhana Tara

Ardra, Swati, Satabisha

  1. Naidhana Tara

Punarvasu, Vishakha, Poorvabhadra

  1. Mitra Tara

Pushyami, Anuradha, Uttarabhadra

  1. Parama Mitra Tara

Aslesha, Jyeshta, Revati.

Names and deities of the Nakshatras:

Nakshatra                Diety

Ashwini                  Ashwini Kumara

Bharani                   Yama

Krittika                   Agni

Rohini                     Brahma

Mrigashira              Chandra

Arudra                    Rudra

Punarvasu               Aditi

Pushya                    Brihaspathi

Aslesha                   Nagas

Magha                    Pitra

Purvaphalguni         Bhaga

Uttaraphalguni        Aryaman

Hasta                      Aditya

Chitta                      Tvashtav

Swati                      Vayu

Vishakha                 Indra Agni

Anuradha                Mitra

Jyestha                    Indra

Moola                     Varuna Nirriti

Purvashada             Jal

Uttarashada             Vishwadeva

Shravana                 Vishnu

Dhanistha                Ashta Vasav

Satabhisha               Varuna

Poorvabhadrapada   ajaikapat

Uttarabhadrapada    Ahirbudhanya

Revati                     Pooshvav

Nakshatras favourable to perform the tasks.

  1. Ashwini, Pushya and Hasta are fast nakshatras.  They are favourable for commercial transactions, starting education, admission, travel, loans etc.  If the nakshatras coincides with Thursday it is much better.
  2. Bharani, Magha, Purva Phalguni, Purvashada, and Purvabhadrapada are fierce nakshatras. They are favourable for tasks that need force like imprisoning or confronting the foes, conflicts, arson.  If the nakshatras coincides with Tuesday it is much better.
  3. Krittika and Vishaka are mixed nakshatras. They are favourable for fire ceremonies, purchasing electronic items and furniture etc. If the nakshatras coincide with Wednesday it is much better.
  4. Rohini, Uttaraphalguni, Uttarashada and Uttarabhadrapada are steady nakshatras. They are favourable to doing fixed and long term works like the purchase of the real estate, construction, digging wells, and planting trees.  If the nakshatras coincide with Sunday it is much better.
  5. Mrigasira, Chitta, Anuradha and Revati are soft nakshatras. They are favourable periods for arts like dance, poetry, drama, wearing a new dress, and entertainment. If the nakshatras coincide with Friday it is much better.
  6. Arudra, Aslesha, Jyeshta, Mula are sharp nakshatras. These nakshatras are favourable for black magic, exorcism, divorce and punishment etc. If the nakshatras coincide with Saturday it is much better.
  7. Punarvasu, Swati, Shravana, Dhanista and Satabisha are moving nakshatras. They are favourable for journeys, gardening and buying automobiles. If the nakshatras coincide with Monday it is much better.

Mythology of Nakshatras and Moon:

Lord Chandra (Moon) is the son of Maharshi Atri and Anasuya.  He is a gracious god equipped with sixteen arts (kala). He sits on a white lotus seat in a beautiful chariot pulled by seven white horses.

Chandra married 27 daughters of King Daksha and Panchajani.  After marriage, Chandra promised Daksha that he will take care of all 27 wives equally with love and care.  But, among his all wives, Chandra was more fond of his fourth wife Rohini, and spent most of his time with her. His other wives were not happy with this and requested him to spend equal time with all. Inspite of it Chandra still continued ignoring them. Then all the 26 nakshatras approach King Daksha.  Angered Daksha curses Chandra that his power declines day by day and will suffer from Kshaya roga(Tuberculosis). Chandra begs Daksha to take back the curse.  But, Daksha says that as he cannot take back the curse, praying to Lord Shiva may help.

Chandra prays to Lord shiva at a Prabhas Patan(now in Gujarat).  The shivalinga that Chandra prayed for is known as Somnath Jyothirlinga.  Pleased Lord Shiva tells Chandra that the curse cannot be fully reversed but can be relaxed.  Hence, from then on in a month during the first 15 days Shuklapaksha, Chandra has brightness (waxing moon) and next 15 days it is Waning Moon which is known as Krishna paksha.  Chandra will have full radiance on the 15th day of Shuklapaksha “Purnima” and disappear on the 15th day of Krishna paksha “Amavasya”.  Because of this curse, Moon passes through one nakshatra each day and goes through all the nakshatras in one month.